Alcone Marketing Group – Consumer Lab

The Consumer Lab is the consumer insights and brand strategy group at Alcone Marketing Group, a consumer activation company.

Dove Contest Readies Real Women for Summer

Dove continues its Campaign for Real Beauty platform, and extends it into the summer with its self-tanning product.

~A

Dove Contest Readies Real Women for Summer
Dove wants more real women for its ads. This time, it wants them tanned.

Unilever extends its Dove Campaign for Real Beauty with a contest that will put real women in a print ad for its Energy Glow self-tanning moisturizer.

Filed under: advertising, CPG, Women

76 Responses

  1. susan D'Agostaro says:

    I would like to know how to enter in the dove real women ad. I am 53 and my husband is really pushing me to do it. I try to exercise regularly and I do take care of my skin and the truth really is that I never used anything but dove. I use the body wash and I use dove soap on my face and i also use the skin cream . I have used the energy glow last summer and loved it because it did not have that heavy smell (like Jergins). But please let me know because I am proud of my skin and I am looking so forward to using all of the newest skin care products that you come out with in the future, because I honestly trust your product and it has really helped my skin.
    Sincerely,
    Susan D’Agostaro

    • Tabatha says:

      Does someone still have the link to the dove contest? I would reallylike to try myself. Never had alot of confidence but people keep telling me I dont look 40. I also have a great tan Thank you

    • s.dag says:

      wow, I wanted to make some money back then, probably could have won too, had the best skin! people don’t waste your time writing to Dove, they never get back to you at all and they just post everything for publicity, ps…..I don’t even use them anymore, I think they changed the ingredients…………

  2. I have-used Dove soap since the 6os–I am now 70 yrs old and still use it! I am a very active, outdoors woman, and also have dry skin. I feel that Dove has helped me to keep my skin looking good for about 40 years–I will continue to use it exclusively. How can I enter the Dove REal Women contest??

  3. B J Winters says:

    If you ever need a beautiful, already tanned 63 year old grandmother with wonderful skin, no wrinkles, a size 6, and who looks no more than 40, please contact me. I would be happy to give endorsements for your great products.

  4. Tessa says:

    Thanks for posting that link to the Dove contest. I’ve really bee interested in their new marketing campaigns — this “real women” thing seems to be getting a lot of attention.

    I read some negative reviews of the commercial that aired during the Oscars — the “user generated one.” I wasn’t as big of a fan of that one, foor a few different reasons — best summed up in an essay (Taking UGC Too Literally) which I found on some media site.

    - Tessa

  5. linda ahuna says:

    I saw an ad for a contest for women (“over 50″), and I would like to enter my mother in it. I don’t remember it saying anything about having a tan -just that the contestant use dove products. It asked for a picture to be submitted along with a short essay about why you think this person’s inner glow matches her outer glow. My mother is 78 -and her skin really does glow- she looks at least 10 years younger than she is -and has the most translucent skin. She doesn’t believe this -but I can see with my own eyes that she has very few deep wrinkles . . .and even her fine ones are hard to detect. She is stylish, wears her hair in a wash and blow dry bob -and doesn’t over-do the make-up. She uses your sunscreen products because she is prone to basal cell skin cancers. Thus, no tan. Her personality and way of life is what really shines. I am 47, and I always tell her if I grow-up to be half the woman she is -then I will have done alright. She is the most honest person I know -she is compassionate to all -especially those in need. She lives by a set of self-imposed morals; and I can honestly say -her conscience MUST be free of any and all guilt/regrets. A few years ago, she showed her inner strength when she threw a pulmonary embolism a few days after outpatient rotator cuff surgery. She thought she was going to die- but she wasn’t scared at the actual moment of the clot passing through her heart and landing in her lung. That was my worst moment -we had to bring her to a walk-in clinic as it was a Saturday and the closest medical facility we could get her to. I remember my knees buckling when they told me she had thrown a clot and the ambulance was pulling up to take her to the hospital. I road with her -trying to remain strong -and even then she muttered, “I must look awful!”. I said, MOM! YOU’RE ALIVE! Forget about how you look! The worst is over- you are going to be okay!” Looking back, she said it to keep me calm. A few years before that- she took care of me for a couple of months when I was hospitalized after a doctor “goofed” doing a procedure and I developed a massive blood clot. She (and my wonderful dad), thought they were coming to take me home and stay a few days while I recuperated from minor foot surgery. To make a long story short- on about day 18 of me having to stay in the hospital -her and my dad drove the daily hour and a half drive to see me at Miami’s Jackson Memorial Hospital and told me they were going to stop get a few things. On their list? They’d only brought a three or four pairs of underpants because that’s how long they thought they’d be staying. They wound up staying 52 days -and took care of my kids, brought me homemade meals, my mom washed my hair while I was laying in a hospital bed with chest tubes in, walked me up and down the halls to keep my strength up (I was very close to dying and I lost 30 pounds). But that is who my mom is. She personifies “Dove”. She is pure -her heart is pure. No matter old I get -she’s STILL right! She is wise and with it. Well-traveled and still very active. She loves her family and friends- some of which she’s had since she was a little girl. I have wonderful memories of being a child -home cooked meals . . .meat, potatoes, veggies , , ,AND dessert! My favorite times are still spent going over to her house (both my sister and I eventually followed them to where they retired in FL (you can run, but you can not hide, right?!), laying my head on her shoulder and holding her hand and watching a movie. We play scrabble -and although she really doesn’t like it, she takes me and her friends to Bingo at the clubhouse where they live. She goes for the buffet dinner and the mini éclairs -I go for the buffet, the bingo, but mostly because I cherish the time I have with her and my “extended by friendship” family. I could go on and on about why my mom deserves to be in your contest -or why she deserves to be recognized as a “real Dove woman” -but it might take a book. My mother glows with inner and outer beauty, and although she has a sharp wit and sense of humor (I challenge anyone to out-wit her!), she is truly the best person I know. This is my way of saying “I love you, Mom!”

  6. Hanja says:

    I turned 70 two days ago. My friends and family have been urging me to enter the Dove contests for some time now. So finally I decided to go for it. Only I see that contestants need to be US citizents residing in America.
    I’m Croatian with an English passport and live in Rome.
    Is there any chance that Dove will go international?

  7. geneva dupuy says:

    I am very sorry that I did not have a chance to enter the Dove Glow contest. I just turned 61 years of age and everyone thinks I look 40 to 45. My son is 34 years of age and people seem to think that I am his wife. I am to the point that I am tired of saying, I am his mother. but I am very greatful of the wonderful skin and beauty that God has blessed me with. Yes I do use dove and I am trying the self tanning products. I think it very important to look your best . I saw the add on T.V. just last week. The women looked very pretty, I think Dove is doing a very good campaign for women over 50. I do not believe in cosmetic surgery, I feel if you take care of your skin and body you will grow old very gracefully and not have a fake look around your eyes and different parts of your face. I think plastic surgery is very unnecessary. Some people are very fortunate to have good skin tones and natural beauty, but you do have to use products that you believe in to keep it looking good. It is a everyday process to look good and not bread the bank. Hopefully, next time I will enter the contest. I have lived in Anchorage, Alaska since l973, and traveled to many states. I was born in Louisiana. My father was 63 when I was born and my mother was 28. Maybe this has something to do with the way I look today. Please advise if you will sponsor another contes for women over 50.

    Geneva Dupuy

  8. melinda hart says:

    i use dove because i am a nurse aND HAVE REALLY DRY SKIN FROM WASHING HANDS CONSTANTLY. I LOVE THE DOVE BODY WASH AND THE SKIN CARE MOISTURE LINE

  9. melinda hart says:

    I LOVE THE PRODUCT AND I LOVE THE FACT THAT DOVE CELEBRATES OLDER WOMEN. WE DON’T HAVE TO BE CUTE OR SEXY OR SIZE 0 WE JUST HAVE TO LOVE WHO WE ARE AND WHAT WE DO. I SPENT 16 YEARS IN THE MILITARY AND I HAVE 2 CHILDREN ONE WHO IS IN THE AIRFORCE IN ENGLAND. I AM A GRANDMOTHER OF 2 AND A STUDENT WITH A 3.9 GPA. I JUST GOT A B ON MY ALGEBRA FINALS..YEAH AND I AM TAKING CARE OF A SICK SPOUSE. DOVE PAMPERS ME AND MAKES ME FEEL BEAUTIFUL

  10. melinda hart says:

    I Want to be a dove lady

  11. Carrie Hawkes says:

    I would like to be a Real Woman for dove products

  12. Robin LeFebvre says:

    How does one get qualified for the Dove campaign?I do not see any forms to fill out nor any detailed info on it.

  13. I am 53 years olds and I had my first and only child at 42. I would like to know when you are going to have your next Dove campaign celebrating women over fifty again.

  14. Roxane Clark says:

    My name is Roxane. I would love to enter my mother, Josephine, in the Dove real beauty campaign contest. My mother is 62 years old and is absolutely beautiful. My best friend always tells the story about when she met my mother and thought that she was my sister. I am 38 years old, and my mother’s skin looks the same as mine (or better) and is prettier than almost ALL of my friends’ skin. She is finally getting some grey hair, even though about 75% of it is still jet black. Even though my mom is very striking because of her gorgeous skin, that is not the best part about her. The best quality about my mom is that she is by far the finest human being that I (and everybody I know) have ever known. Nobody even comes close. She gave me and my brothers the best childhood anybody could ever dream of. Four years ago my grandmother lost her battle with lung cancer. My mother took care of her until the bitter end because she could not bare the thought of my grandmother in a nursing home. She has also taken on the responsibility of taking care of my grandmother’s sister, who has recently been placed in a nursing home. I had my first baby in October. My mother not only taught me everything I needed to know about childbirth, she was my coach, along with my husband. She made everything so understandable and comfortable, I found that I could easily give birth no drugs, just her support.
    All of my friends are jealeous of the relationship I have with my mom because she is such a gem of a person. I have no idea why I lucked out to have JOSEPHINE, as my mother. I hope that I can be half the person she is, for my daughter’s sake.
    Thanks, Roxane

  15. Hello,
    I am 54 years old, My grandmother has bathed me with Dove when i was just a little child. The days when they didn’t have automatic washers instead washers had wooden ringers and nanny used wooden wash boards and ironed bedding that i slept on. thats what comes to mind when i smell Dove the same sent is there, for the past 48 years, I used Dove and i use dove now. as well as dove on my daughter Ellie. and now at 17 Ellie still uses Dove. As i said I am 54 years old and i do look no older then 37 years old every one tells me this .I really think Dove played a big part in that.
    My Skin Is Beautiful, My Beauty bar Is DOVE

  16. Connie fromm says:

    I.m 55 and would like to find out how to enter the Dove real women contest. I’ve always used Dove products and every one tells me I look 40. Thank you for your time. Connie

  17. JOAN SUMMERS says:

    I.m in my 60′s and also would like to find out how to enter the Dove real women contest,I’ve also always used Dove products all my life and I feel they are wonderful. Thanks for your time . Joan

  18. Donna Santella says:

    Do you know when the next Dove contest is for women over 50?

  19. Arlene Rubenstein says:

    I am 54 years old and I would love to be a Dove Woman!! If you are looking for a well preserved middle age woman , living in the midwest I’m the woman you are looking for!!!

  20. Ella Colbert says:

    I am 61 years old and I would love to be the next Dove real woman because I have beautiful hair and skin for my age. No one believes that I am my real age. I am the woman you are looking for to star in your advertisements for Dove products.

  21. San De Rae says:

    Friends tell me I should be a Dove Girl! It’s hard to believe since I’m closing in on 72!

  22. Linda Romanelli Leahy says:

    Hi,

    I’m a first wave baby boomer born in 1946. My family includes 3 generations of Dove women. My mom is 85 and my daughters are 35 and 36.

    It all begin when I was in my twenties and a dermatologist told me not to wash my face with anyhing but Dove. I suggested Dove to my Mom and she’s used ever since.

    My daughters grew up using Dove and although they experimented with different products over the years have always come back to Dove.

    We all have great skin and would love to send a photo. Is there an email address I can send it?

    Thanks.

  23. Robin Brooks says:

    Are you going to do anymore casting calls for DOVE in 2008.

  24. virginia says:

    when is your next call casting.please e mail.virginia

  25. Sharon Donaldson says:

    I too use the Dove products, and would love to enter the next Dove contest. I will be 52 years old on December 18, but my friends say I could pass for late my 20′s. I have two beautiful daughters and when we are out together they think I’m their younger sister. I love it!

  26. sylvia moringlan says:

    I would like to enter my mother in the Dove contest. My mom is very beauiful. Everyone say’s we look like sisters. I would like more info on how I can submit a picture and a application.

    Thank You,
    Sylvia Moringlan

  27. KAREN WILKINSON says:

    DEART DOVE,
    I WATCH A SEGMENT ON OPRAH’S SHOW
    REGARDING YOUR CONTEST AND THE CON-TESTANTS, COULD YOU PLEASE E-MAIL ME
    AS TO HOW ONE CAN BECOME A DOVE WOMAN. I BEEN TRYING TO RECEIVE THAT IN-
    FO FROM OPRAH’S SEGMENT. I USE DOVE SOAP AND I WOULD LIKE TO BECOME A DOVE
    CONTESTANT AS WELL. I AM 50, AND HAPPY TO AMIT MY AGE.. PLEASE RESPONND…

  28. KAREN WILKINSON says:

    THANKS,KAREN

  29. linda frigault says:

    im a mother of two and worked for 18 years doing bodywork , which keeps my skin expossed to very harsh chemmicals . i live in ontario and the weather is a factor for damaging skin ive used dove for five years and found that your product keeps my skin protected and soft. im 41 years old and love when people tell i look younger my daughter’s friends think im her sister lol i love it thank you

  30. Sam Barnes says:

    I would love to enter your next contest. I am often mistaken for my daughter’s sister – not their mother. I have 10 grandchildren and am always asked if they are my children. To say the least this boosts my ego. I try to eat right, excerise and use Dove so that my skn can look as young in the coming years as it does now. I am 60 years young!!

  31. Donna Santella says:

    Can you please tell me when the next contest for beautiful older women will be taking place.

    Thanks so much.

  32. mrs kusum kotecha says:

    Can you please let me know about the next contest. I am 60
    and own U.S. passport. Thanks

  33. Genna says:

    I am a teacher that teaches special education in a juvenile facility. Over the years I have been working there I have noticed that there are not many positive role models in my students life. I believe that if they had some positive role models they really might be able to shape up their lives. I grew up with low self-esteem from having a learning disability and a warp sense of my own body. I think it would be wonderful to enter the next dove contest for real woman. I know that I do my best to model positive behavior and good choice making, but I believe that there is no higher honor then being able to be a “dove girl”. Can someone please send me the information for the next contest, I would love to enter it.

  34. Liliane Dombrowski says:

    I would also like to know when Dove will have a new contest for women over 50 or 60.

  35. victoria nicklos says:

    I would like to become a Dove Model. I am 60 years old and I want to be a part of helping my generation feel more secure about growing older. Please advise me what I can do to make application.

    Thank you.

  36. Maria Kreger says:

    I am a 55 years old woman, and I will be turning 56 on April of this year. I was born in Spain, and my last 33 years of my life I have been living in California. I am merry, and have with two grown sons and a grandchild. During summer I get a good tan and since I lived in the Unites States I have been using Dove soap (for the past 33 years). I will love to be part of the Dove contest for summer 2008.

  37. Kim Storms says:

    Could you please inform me as soon as dove is looking for more beautiful women 40 years of age and beyond?

  38. ilona furda says:

    Thank you Dove for no signs of aging.

    53 and soaring !

  39. Joyce Harve says:

    I am 50 and my Mom is 84. We are constantly being told by people we look 20-30 years younger. Please let me know how we can enter the Dove contest. It would be an honor to us. Thanks

  40. Debbie Hartness says:

    I love Dove products!

    Please let me know how to enter your next Dove contest. I am 53
    and proud of it. Thank you for showing the world some real women instead of the fake baked, plastic airheads we see every time we pick up a magazine or turn on the television. I hope you will inspire your competitors to do the same. Great Job!

    Deb

  41. [...] Summer dove wants more real women for its ads. … Thanks for posting that link to the dove contest.http://consumerlab.wordpress.com/2007/02/15/dove-contest-readies-real-women-for-summer/CMT.ca : Shows : Chevy Karaoke Star 2008 : FAQsUnfortunately, CMT regrets that this contest is not [...]

  42. Stevan Szentadorjany says:

    Why just MEN I’m 43 years old man and have been using DOVE for many year you wont believe the results. If you need picture LET me know. Thank You.

  43. Pj long says:

    I am a 60 yr. old woman that passes for 40 all the time. No one ever believes my age. I have used Dove since I was young. It’s the only soap my family ever used. I would love to be a model for your product. If you would be interested in me sending a photo please email back.

  44. i am interested in this. i am 42 and people always think i am in my late 20′s if not early 30′s. i would love to be a model for your product. i will send a photo if you like. and to boot, i use dove and have for years…..

  45. Roxanne says:

    I am 53 years old…I have just recently lost 20 pounds after 2 hip replacements. I am in better shape than when I was 40…so my husband says. I would love to particape in your dove competition.

  46. B. L. Newcomb says:

    I was unable to go to the casting call for models when you came to Charlotte earlier this summer. I am 70 years old, did my second runway modeling job for a charity event this past March. I play tennis 2-3 times a week on a USTA 3.5 team and our local interclub team. I have been retired from the school system since 2000 and spent my time since volunteering for Hospitality House (we house families of hospital patients in crisis) and in The Symphony Guild of Charlotte. Last year I was secretary of the board, this year I am New Members Chair. I have been an officer (once a VP) or committee chair every year. I also knit sweaters for the Guideposts Mag. Project and helmet liners for soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan. At the present I am assistant class agent for my college’s 50th reunion next May. As you can tell I believe in living life to the fullest….even rode the white water rapids at the US Whitewater Center here in Charlotte last year. My family is my passion, but I believe we are put on this earth to help others each and every day that we can. I am also fortunate to look younger than I am and can still wear my wedding dress…..Hope this helps me to be considered for this year’s contest. I am a former teacher and school administrator (junior high and senior high math teacher, Student Government advisor, then elementary assistant principal…teaching 17 years, adm. 5 years). That’s it!!

  47. I am 52 years old and would like to enter your next dove contest
    my husband and family say i would pass for 42 years would you please inform me when any competitions arise.
    thanks Linda

  48. rodi says:

    Dear Dove. I am a Real woman in real world and love your work. I am 40 and would love to become a model to show other ladys , ( That life dosn`t have to be old at any age. Thank you so much, looking forword in reciving your reply.

  49. Melanie Davis says:

    Dear Dove, I have recently heard about your campaign for real women. I will turn 40 the summer of 2009 and I am very interested in being a model for you. I am told all the time how young I look and feel I would be a great asset to you. I hope to hear from you soon.

  50. Pamela Bonilla says:

    Dear Dove..I wanted to see if they ever use mature women for models..I am 54 years old and I googled and saw your ad..I would love to be a real woman model.I also use Dove products and I think I look pretty good for my age.hope to hear from you..

  51. sandy says:

    on youtube this boy said read this u asshole that makes me want 2 beat the sh*t out of him 4 saying that!!!!!!!!!!!!! >=(

  52. sandy says:

    oh! no!! my grandma is coming c yall :)

  53. phillis smith says:

    how and where do you enter for your dove modeling ads .

  54. Janette Spencer says:

    I’m a mature student of 38, and sitting my A-Levels, finally. I am putting information together,for a report. My big question, ‘Is it harder to grow older gracefully, in todays society’? It seems to me, with all the advertising on the television and in magazines, there’s alot of pressure, for us lady’s to stay looking younger, for longer. I would love to here your opinions on this matter. Were the same pressures there, for our mothers and grandmothers? Or, were they aloud to just be who they are and were?

  55. Ilona furda says:

    I would be fabulous at being a dove woman !!!!!! Comfortable at my age of 54 and going strong.

  56. Diane Ortez says:

    Today while shopping the saleswoman complimented me on my hairstyle and we had some gal talk and I mentioned my upcoming 70th birthday and how I still enjoy a stylist haircut. This caught the attention of another sales clerk and she mentioned just hearing about the contest and that I should look into it. What are the quailifactions?
    Aging gracefully,
    Diane

  57. elaine says:

    are you going to do more casting call for Dove Real Woman contest for 2009? When can I apply and how?

  58. Regenia Gordon says:

    Thank you Dove for keeping my skin beautiful! I am 42 and I still get carded for anything that requires someone to be 18. I have so many people tell me I should put my face on a Dove commercial. I don’t see myself as beautiful but others apparently do. And I cant deny the gloww my skin has compared to most of the people that I know in thier 40′s.Please let me know any information you have on Dove face representation. I would be honored to help you spread the word about Dove. It’s been in my family for generations!

  59. Regenia Gordon says:

    my correct email:
    reginagordon@rocketmail.com

  60. Regenia Gordon says:

    PLease give me all information on Dove Beauty Campaigns.

  61. Ilona Furda says:

    The less you do to your skin

    the more fabulous you look.

  62. Anja Hendricks says:

    Will there be more castings for your “Dove for real women” contest in 2009? How can I apply?

  63. Roochiks says:

    i wanna keep myslf updated wid ur ongoing competitions n b a part of it…..bt how..i donno???plz help..

  64. Susan McNeely says:

    I would love to enter for your Dove for Real Women for 2010. How can I apply?

  65. KAKI says:

    I have been hesitant to finaLly get the nerve to just say I have used Dove on my face and no other cleaning products for 40 years and my friends and family insisted I write to tell you this.I am 57 and I guess it really works for this is what they all tell me.I have been told I look a lot younger.I think more than anything you are as young as you feel but I do think that Dove has something to do with it.

  66. Teri Aki says:

    I’m 34. I look between 15-25 years old.

    No lie, no gimmick, DOVE SOAP helps me achieve this, along with genetics, and having a good attitude.

  67. mona palmore says:

    I would love to enter for your Dove for real women for 2010,how can I apply.

  68. suzanne latimer says:

    I am 62 with 5 children and a nurse, blond 5,5 125 #, work out 5-6 times weekly and mainly vegetarian,luv dove products.Have pics.

  69. http://fastingforweightloss.net says:

    I wish to express appreciation to the writer for rescuing me from such a matter. Because of looking throughout the search engines and obtaining advice which are not productive, I believed my entire life was gone. Being alive devoid of the approaches to the issues you’ve sorted out as a result of your entire post is a serious case, and the kind which could have adversely affected my entire career if I had not encountered the blog. The competence and kindness in touching all things was very helpful. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come across such a point like this. I am able to at this time relish my future. Thanks for your time so much for this professional and results-oriented help. I will not think twice to propose the website to any individual who should get support on this problem.

  70. Maria Paste says:

    THANK YOU DOVE, HAVE BEEN USING IT FOR A VERY LONG TIME, I HAVE DRY SKIN AND DOVE MAKES MY SKIN FEEL SILKY AND SMOOTH, I WILL BE 73 NEXT MONTH AND I HAVE BEEN ASKED SO MANY TIMES WHAT DO I USE ON MY FACE OR DID I HAVE SURGERY?, I HONESTLY DO NOT LOOK MY AGE BEEN TAKEN FOR LATE 40S AND 50. if OU ARE INTERESTED IN SEEING A PHOTO OF ME, i WILL SEND IT.

    AGAIN, THANKS DOVE

  71. i am a new user specially in a dove white beauty soap. ( i used it in my face).because it try it.. cause my face is dry..when i used it i cannot believed such soap like this i feel smooth soft and have a moisturizer that i am looking for …i am vanessa cuenca in borongan city a provinciana woman trying to reach my dream someday that i will be on the ad.. i am 32 years old.

  72. Amber Skouteris says:

    I usually get spray tanned or use self tanner during Winter months BS everyone comments how natural and wven it looks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 365,352 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

